Tags

Founded by local philanthropist Will Cohen, Vape-a-Vet is a not-for-profit organization with a goal to help Veterans and active duty service members kick their addiction to traditional tobacco products. By providing high-end starter kits, Vape-a-Vet removes the front end startup costs to trying out vaping which gives veterans a stronger opportunity to live a healthier lifestyle.

Currently VaV is funded solely by donations. At the monthly Phoenix Vapers vape meet, raffles are held to generate revenue to fund VaV. Items are donated to the organization by brand names and other individuals that are then raffled off. 100% of the proceeds go to Vape-a-Vet to further distribute starter kits to veterans.

I have a personal bias toward Vape-a-Vet as I am a veteran myself. I believe in any cause that actually helps veterans. VaV’s sole goal is the help veterans and service members kick smoking and dipping. I wish this organization was around when I was serving. I was up to 2 1/2 packs of cigarettes a day by the time I left the Army in 2005. I can only imagine how much better life would be if I had kicked smoking back then. I can say from personal experience that there are a lot of organizations around that claim to be for the veterans and they’re really not. There are many organizations that use veterans as a means to play on the sympathy of the public to line their pockets. Vape-a-Vet really is truly for the veterans. There is no money to be made. All proceeds of all donations go towards more starter kits to meet the requests from veterans which is growing exponentially. I am proud to say that I am an individual supporter of Vape-a-Vet.

Veterans can reach out to VaV by sending a message through http://www.VapeaVet.org , by calling (480)-269-6076, or by contacting the organization through their Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/VapeAVetProject .

I really hope that Vape-a-Vet becomes a massive movement and I really hope that other organizations follow the example being set by VaV, a true organization that really does have the welfare of the veterans at heart.